James Dingley - Ivanyan & Partners
add items to your binder to email or print all at once
view binder
0

James Dingley

partner
Moscow
James specializes in international commercial and investment treaty arbitration proceedings.

He has 14 years’ experience handling complex, high-value international disputes, often involving States or state-owned entities, and has been recognized as a ‘Rising Star’ in international arbitration in the Legal 500 UK 2021 directory. 

He has represented clients in arbitrations conducted pursuant to all major international rules (including the LCIA, ICC, SCC and ICSID Rules and the Energy Charter Treaty), and in ad hoc arbitrations (including pursuant to the UNCITRAL Rules, the LMAA Terms and national legislation).

He also advises as to suitable dispute resolution regimes and investment protection strategies for major energy & infrastructure and natural resources projects.

James is admitted to practice in England & Wales and is a Member of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators (MCIArb).

specialization


experience

Representing the Russian Federation in several investment treaty arbitrations brought by Ukrainian individuals and companies over the alleged expropriation of their assets in Crimea (2019-present)

Represented the national oil company of a former Soviet State in a series of disputes with a long-standing services provider arising out of commercial shipping arrangements and related loan agreements. The proceedings involved three related commercial arbitrations (LCIA, UNICTRAL and LMAA) and associated court application in several jurisdictions (2017-2020)

Advised an international energy company in relation to potential investment treaty arbitration proceedings against Nigeria arising out of attempts by the Federal Government to recover $13 bn of ‘additional revenue’ retrospectively (2018-2020)

Advised an international energy company in relation to potential investment treaty arbitration proceedings against Nigeria arising out of its refusal to engage with the conversion of a highly prospective deep-water block to an OML (2018-2020)

Advising a South African bank and two syndicates of lenders in a series of related arbitrations against a State-owned mining company involving complex issues of fact and law and several sets of associated applications to the English courts (2013-2017)

Advised two UAE investors in the petrochemicals and tourism sectors in two sets of investment treaty proceedings against Egypt arising out of the expropriation of investments following the Egyptian Revolution  (2011-2014 and 2011-2016)

Represented a consortium of international energy companies in respect of claims totaling $3 bn+ arising under a Production Sharing Contract relating to a deep-water Oil Prospecting Licence off-shore Nigeria (ad hoc, Abuja) (2008-2013)

Represented an international energy company in investment treaty claims totaling $1.3 bn+ regarding the expropriation of contractual rights to a Production Sharing Contract relating to a deep-water Oil Prospecting Licence off-shore Nigeria (2007-2011)

Represented the Government of Poland in an Energy Charter Treaty claim worth $400 m+ regarding the operation of an oil product business in Poland (2008-2010)

Advised a UK mining company in $300 m+ investment treaty claims arising out of the expropriation of a gold mining licence in the Kyrgyz Republic (2006-2008)

Джеймс Дингли - Иванян & Партнеры

Джеймс Дингли

партнер
Лондон / Москва
Джеймс специализируется на международных коммерческих и инвестиционных арбитражных (третейских) разбирательствах. 

Он обладает 14-летним опытом разрешения сложных международных споров высокой стоимости, нередко с участием государств и государственных компаний. В рейтинге The Legal 500 UK 2021 (Великобритания) отмечен как «Rising Star» в категории International arbitration.

Джеймс защищал интересы доверителей в спорах по всем основным международным арбитражным регламентам, включая LCIA, ICC, SCC, ICSID и спорах из Договора к Энергетической хартии, а также в ad hoc арбитражах в соответствии с регламентами UNCITRAL, LMAA и национальных законодательств.

Он также помогает доверителям в выборе эффективной стратегии защиты инвестиций в масштабные проекты в области энергетики, инфраструктуры и природных ресурсов и формата разрешения споров, вытекающих из реализации таких проектов.

Джеймс – член Королевского института арбитров (MCIArb), допущен к практике в Англии и Уэльсе.

Специализация


Опыт

Представление интересов Российской Федерации в нескольких арбитражных разбирательствах с украинскими частными лицами и компаниями по поводу предполагаемой экспроприации их активов в Крыму (2019 – настоящее время)

Защита интересов государственной нефтяной компании одной из стран СНГ в нескольких спорах с многолетним поставщиком услуг возникших из договоров перевозки грузов и связанных кредитных соглашений. Разбирательство включало три связанных коммерческих арбитража (LCIA, UNICTRAL и LMAA) и обращения в суды нескольких юрисдикций (2017 – 2020) 

Консультирование международной энергетической компании в связи с потенциальным инвестарбитражем против Нигерии в результате попыток федерального правительства взыскать с доверителя «дополнительный доход» за предшествующий период в размере $13 млрд (2018 – 2020)

Консультирование международной энергетической компании в связи с потенциальным инвестарбитражем против Нигерии в связи с отказом государства выдать лицензию на добычу по результатам геологоразведки (2018 – 2020)

Консультирование южноафриканского банка и двух синдикатов кредиторов в серии сложных арбитражных разбирательств против государственной горнодобывающей компании и связанных с обращениями в английские суды (2013 – 2017)

Консультирование двух инвесторов из ОАЭ, в нефтехимической и туристической отрасли, в двух отдельных инвестиционных арбитражных спорах против Египта, возникших из экспроприации их активов в результате египетской революции (2011 – 2014; 2011 – 2016)

Представление интересов международного консорциума энергетических компаний в арбитраже из договора о разделе продукции, касающемся лицензии на глубоководную разведку нефти на шельфе Нигерии. Объем требований: более $3 млрд (2008 – 2013)

Представление интересов транснациональной энергетической компании в споре из инвестиционного соглашения из-за экспроприации договорных прав по договору о разделе продукции (PSA) в связи с геологоразведкой и дальнейшей добычей нефти на шельфе Нигерии. Объем требований: более $1,3 млрд (2007 – 2011)

Представление интересов правительства Польши в споре из Договора к Энергетической Хартии в отношении деятельности предприятия по производству нефтепродуктов в Польше. Объем требований: более $400 млн (2008 – 2010)

Консультирование британской горнодобывающей компании по искам из инвестиционного соглашения на сумму более $300 млн, возникшим в результате отзыва лицензии на добычу золота в Кыргызской Республике (2006 – 2008)